The glory is not in falling, but rising.

“Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is head, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus” — Philippians 3:13-14.

I’m glad within the past year I’ve done 2 different bible studies on Philippians because I wouldn’t have the perspective towards the current season I am walking in without the encouragement of Paul’s words.

This season is a strange and new one. I’m being stretched in a bagillion and a half ways and doing way more than I anticipated but at the same time it all makes sense. I couldn’t see myself anywhere else, in any other city, or church, or with any other people. It’s this push and pull. The season pushes me towards hope and renewal and change as the world pulls me towards brokenness and newness.

I am content but I am not satisfied. Does that even make sense? I’m not going to edit this post because in order for you to understand where I am at, it is important for you to just see my verbal vomit and stream of conciousness in full form. A couple months ago I was trying to describe how I felt about this season to a good friend — and used the analogy of a swimmer who was competing in a marathon. The place where I’m at is the middle. I”m pacing myself and going strong, but the finish line is not yet in sight. So I must keep on going and persevering through the trenches knowing that the end is somewhere beyond the horizon.

I’m all over the place in what I am doing in my job/personal life/career/other random ministries/fun but through all of the madness there is a method. My foundation is Jesus and the commission He entrusted me with.

So I keep climbing this mountain because it’s the journey that makes the summit such a glorious sight.

Leave a Reply

