a turning point: t minus three months until i set sail into the “real world”

as a current senior set to graduate undergrad in a wee 3 months, i often get this question in some form or shape:

so, do you know what you’re doing after graduation? do you know where you will be?

let  me rephrase that for you. these well-intentioned folk basically come off to me as jerk-ish because they are asking if i have my life together post-college yet. “do you have financial security set up yet? do you have a job? are you working to ensure your career is gonna happen? etc etc

i am sure college seniors all over empathize with me on this one. here are some factors to consider:

  1. if i’m not in a finance/business/recruiting-based major, chances are that i’m still trying to pass all of my classes (remember?? i’m still in SCHOOL!!!!!). maybe i’ve looked a “real-job” prospects here and there, but if i can’t take  “expected” off the graduation part in my resume, there ain’t going to be the job offer
  2. why the heck do i need to have it “all figured out?!!?!”

i am going to elaborate on point 2 for a bit.

there are a ton of things i am passionate about. i would be ecstatic if a anti-trafficking non-profit brought me on to their team. i would LOVE working with an organization that works to provide good education and empower individuals to break the constraints put on them by corrupt institutions. if a policy-research job offer came up, i would def not pass it up. i would be thrilled to put design & creative skills to use and get paid for it. those are just a few places i dream of plugging into.

however, does getting a job in any of those paths mean i have my life figured out? why does my life have to be intertwined with a career, or what i’m doing, or what i’m passionate about? what happens when i lose that dream job one day? what happens when all the money falls away? what happens when people walk away and you’re left with nothing? i’m a dreamer, and optimistic, and all for the best in people — but that dose of realism reminds me that human beings are filled with such brokenness that disappointments and empty promises are inevitable.

what am i left with then? faith in Jesus is so important to me. at the end of the day, my identity as a daughter in His Kingdom is what sustains me to pursue a ‘career’ as society deems it. He is the rock on which i stand on. i know that He will never fail nor forsake me. so when i trust Him, i know with 100% certainty that i am not setting myself up for failure.  i know that no matter how crappy or how awesome my job or whatever i am currently doing is, it is okay because i am doing what my Father has called me to.

the most tiresome of tasks now can be done with purpose because there is a perspective shift.

so real world. i am not afraid of you!
will not let you take my identity away from me.
i am whole. valuable. precious. worthy to love. full of dreams, and hope.

i was handcrafted by the most amazing artist to walk heaven and earth

for you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. my frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. when I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be
psalms 139 // 13-16
4 thoughts on “a turning point: t minus three months until i set sail into the “real world”

  1. getting a job after college is like the “natural” thing to do just like how after high school, everyone who “wanted a future” went off to college. at the same time you were judged by the college you chose to attend – “you’ll be in debt”, “that’s a mediocre college”, “you’ll have to go back to school”. etc. continue to be strong, you know who you are in Him.

    • this goes hand in hand w/what you just wrote. GOSH there is so much to process & reflect about. i’m glad i have my buddies =)

  2. This is such an encouraging post! I’m a junior in college but I’m already getting tons of people asking me this question, but I have no good reply. I was really convicted by your answer here: that my identity is not, and never will or should be, my career decisions or ambitions but my identity in Christ. Thank you so much for this great post! I’m so glad I discovered this blog– it’s a real encouragement!

    • i’m glad that you can connect with my thoughts. i know that God is teaching me these lessons for a reason and i don’t want to keep what i’m learning to myself because my community can really benefit from it!

      it’s a hard lesson that i’m still re-learning over and over again, but on His solid rock i stand is what is carrying me through both hard and joyful days!

Leave a Reply

