joy {redux} – i am enough

“comparison is the thief of joy” — Theodore Roosevelt

A couple weeks ago, I was speaking candidly about my struggles with inadequacy in academia and feeling inferior to my classmates, and she told me radical honesty, some hard truths about how i am enough. She told me that i need to stop using the word enough in my sentences, and that my identity is complete and whole in jesuschrist. This process of telling myself, “you are enough” has been one of highs and lows, of searching and solitude, but I think most importantly I have been able to say, “I don’t need anything but Jesus. He is ALL that satisfies me”. And that is all to that. No more over-thinking this situation, no more demeaning my capabilities and my skills, and definitely no more false humility.

Instead, I look at the world with a confidence that’s not arrogant, but full of joy. Happiness is fleeting, but joy remains day in, day out. Joy remains even through trials, challenges, valleys, pain, and much more.

Leave a Reply

